House System

St Aidan's Academy has a house system comprising four houses, which are named after four saints - Bede, Cuthbert, Hilda and Wilfrid. Every student is placed into a house from Year 7 and remain in the same house throughout their time at the academy.

As of September 2015, there are four form classes in a year group. Each form class is allocated to a house, so 7Bede, 7Cuthbert, 7Hilda and 7Wilfrid. Staff members are also placed into houses.

Students are able to earn and accumulate points for their house. House points are awarded for attendance, punctuality and other positive behaviour, as well as in a range of inter-house competitions, activities and subject specific challenges.

At the end of the year, the House Cup is awarded to the house that has gained the most points over the course of the year.